June 5, 2017

Day Three update

Posted in June tagged , , , at 11:46 am by viewfromthisdesk

Day Three was tougher than I imagined.  Sunday is the one day hubby is home so we usually have a massive list of jobs to get done.  It’s usually busy and productive.  But yesterday was wet and it meant that all the things we wanted to get done in the garden were difficult and all the house jobs I’d done on Friday and Saturday to keep distracted.  And I’d woken with a banging headache which I didn’t understand.  Doctor Google informed me that drinking eight pints of water was actually a Very Bad Thing.  Turns out, drinking too much water in one day is actually the same as not drinking enough and makes you quite ill.  Fatigue and headaches being the main symptoms.  Ooops.

So Sunday I was careful to keep my intake to three pints.  Which was more difficult than I anticipated.  I’d woken not feeling hungry again which is a bizarre concept for me.  I’m always hungry, always thinking about food and my next meal.  Food is used to celebrate, to cheer me up when I’m sad and to suppress emotions.  Hubby uses it as an apology.  Food is central to everything.

Lunch was a bacon sandwich filled with tomato and lettuce too.  I didn’t take a picture because you all know what a bacon sandwich looks like and equally, I didn’t have a whole rainbow in the meal.

Tea was lovely thought, I made vegetable cous cous and got all the colours in it except purple.  If I knew how to cook aubergines, this would have been a perfect rainbow.  I had a bowl of fruit afterwards so I got all the colours then.

There’s enough left over for me to have this again for tea so that’s something to look forward to.

I’m not sure what three days of rainbow eating has achieved other than making me realise it’s super hard to have purple in every meal.  I love beetroot but can’t have it every meal.  I need to think about this experience and reflect back.

Leave a Reply

