June 12, 2017

Skipping Meals – fasting or foolishness?

Posted in June tagged , , , , at 2:53 pm by viewfromthisdesk

It’s super unusual for me to not be hungry.  It’s no secret that I like food, I talk about it enough and think about it near enough all the time.  Hubby and I will be in the middle of eating a meal and I’ll be asking him what he wants for the next one or if such and such would be okay.  I tried doing weekly meal planning on our weekly blackboard organiser but it just meant that it was a stressful fifteen minutes in one solid lump of me asking what he fancies for tea this week and him replying ‘I don’t know what we’ve got’ and then me being super annoyed and frustrated over his inability to open the freezers or cupboards and look or – heaven forbid – actually remember what we bought recently.  ARGH!

Food is my enemy and my comfort.  It stresses me out and makes me happy.  I just feels like a permanent bad relationship that you can’t leave because when it’s good, it’s really good and you can almost forget the horrid bits.

I started not feeling hungry when I did the rainbow eating a week ago.  And for the last week it’s been a recurring thing.  I’d not want breakfast most mornings and if I didn’t eat something then I also wouldn’t feel anything come lunchtime.  By about 4.30 I’d be ready to eat my desk though which is reassuring!  I can’t work out why eating makes me then regularly hungry but missing a meal isn’t triggering those same feelings.

Last week I read an article which said that people that didn’t eat between 7pm and 11am and then only had two meals (lunch and tea) lost more weight that people who ate tea at say 8pm and then breakfast.  They put it down to this period of fasting.  But I put it down to a skipped meal.  If you are only eating twice a day then of course you’ll lose weight, it’s a whole meal’s worth of calories not going into your system.  When I skip meals it doesn’t help me lose weight, it doesn’t change anything other than giving me food guilt over not eating.

The 5:2 diet was super popular last year and when I read about it, I just laughed.  Miss a meal, you are joking!  And yet somehow, I’m doing it inadvertently.  This morning I ate breakfast but didn’t enjoy it and wanted to give up half way though.  It was a nice breakfast, I just couldn’t be bothered with it.  And it’s now almost 3pm and I’ve not fancied lunch yet.  I probably won’t bother now, although I’ve got yoghurts in the fridge as a just in case.  I have a drawer full of emergency hula-hoops that I’ve ignored for a couple of weeks.  Food just isn’t giving me the same feeling of happiness and contentment any more and I don’t like it.

In bonus news, my mouth has stopped bleeding and going ganky.  I also made a lasagne yesterday which had many, many vegetables in.  I think I counted six and Hubby didn’t realise.  It was delicious and he’s commented that he can’t wait to have it again tonight as we had enough left for a second meal.  Maybe I need to do more food subterfuge to make it more exciting for me?

Leave a Reply

