January 6, 2022

Pantry Challenge week one

Posted in 2022_PantryChallenge, January tagged , , , at 6:46 pm by viewfromthisdesk

Since writing the meal plan, the pantry challenge has been really very simple indeed.

We had a roast that lasted two evenings and a lunchtime sarnie. We had a treat steak and chips meal for New Years Day. We used up bread buns that were a bit freezer-burnt and looking rough. I made a lasagne for two meals which has turned into two meals for now and two meals for the freezer. It’s been almost – dare I say it – fun.

I’ve had lovely helpful inputs from peeps – I picked up a tub of ricotta which was short dated and learnt this could go into the lasagne, so I balled it and froze it before the date ran out and that went between the layers and was delicious. I’ve never used ricotta before but I will absolutely keep an eye out for it now.

I’m under no illusion that this fun and excited feeling I’ve got will wane soon enough. Probably closer to week four when I’m fed up of planning and/or ploughing through four tonnes of french beans out the garden. I have put in the diary that Saturday 22nd is my new audit date as I imagine clearing the stores could continue into February with a small relaxation of the rules.

I want fresh mushrooms and coleslaw right now. I don’t miss anything else just yet.

The no-shopping element is trickier. I’d not realised how much I liked the instant ebay/etsy/amazon experience. Or how easy it was to think and buy and not consider whether I really need or want it. So making the wishlist for Jan/Feb purchases that I’m not allowed to buy has been eye-opening and frustrating. I will be interested to note which items still call out to me in February.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.